this is how you build a skill (WITHOUT enough time)

a personal story

Read time 1.6 min. (Make sure you click “display images.”)

I’m 35. I’ve been wanting to play the piano for the longest time. But never had a chance to begin.

Now, at the busiest season of my life (full-time parent of two + building a life abroad + trying to build businesses), I’ve decided to give it a shot.

(I make up a lot of songs off the top of my head for my kids and I want to be able to play them on the piano.)

That weekly lesson I get. It’s just one hour a week. But it is something. My teacher shows up = I show up.

I complain about being busy all the time. And not having any time for myself. But 1 hour a week adds up. (I can already play Jingle Bells, just conveniently timed!)

In 10 years time, when my kids become teenagers and don’t need me as much anymore (which I’m sure will happen FAST), I’ll look back and say, “Wow, I’ve been playing the piano for 10 years.”

Don’t underestimate what you can build. (No image here? Make sure you click “display images.”)

Quick formula:

  • Automatize it. Weekly lesson, accountability partner, whatever works. Don’t leave it to free will.

  • Keep it short and sweet. Once a week is plenty. Don’t overdo it and burn out.

  • Don’t criticize yourself for not giving more. Show up weekly. Skip a week if need be. Get back up. Be kind to yourself.

***

For the past month I got trapped in “build” mode with zero marketing. (A recipe for disaster.) I’ve been working on a new info product. This time a physical one. I couldn’t follow my own advice and launch it fast. It’s giving me a hard time. Hoping to tie loose ends and announce it soon. And make sure I launch my next one faster.

That’s it for today!

Stay building,

Love, B.

Başak Anıl

I’m currently building 12 products in 12 months and write this weekly newsletter Begin, Build, Become.

Let’s chat on X @hellobasak or email [email protected]